How to Sell Covered Calls on Fidelity (Beginner’s Guide)

Someone asks:

I’m pretty new to selling covered calls on Fidelity. Can someone educate me on how to do it?

Before we start, be sure to meet the following prerequisite.

• You must have at least Option Level 1 enabled on your account.
  • You must own at least 100 shares of the stock that you want to write a covered call on.

How to Sell Covered Calls on Fidelity

1. Login to your Fidelity account.
  2. Click on Trade via the top menu.
  3. Select Options > Account (the account that you want to sell covered calls on).
  4. Type in the ticker symbol.
  5. Under Action, select Sell to Open.
  6. Enter the Quantity. Select Call.
  7. Choose the Expiration Date of your Covered Call and pick the Strike.
  8. Select your Order Type and enter the price you want for the Covered Call.
  9. Preview and finalize your trade order by clicking Submit.

Your Trade ticket should look similar to the screenshot above. Of course, some fields such as expiration date, strike, symbol, and the limit price will vary depending on your preference.

When selling a covered call on Fidelity, ensure that the Action field is set to Sell to Open. That is extremely important.

When Do I Receive My Premium After Selling Covered Calls?

I’ve never sold covered calls and cash-covered puts on Fidelity before. I sold a few last week and today – where does the premium for them to show and/or when? On Robinhood, it was immediately reflected in my buying power but I’m just not seeing it here?

Answer:

Sandro C:

I do options all the time. It is reflected immediately. I would be very careful comparing Robinhood to other platforms. Just because you received a credit from selling a call or put, does not increase your buying power. You still need that to close the position (BTC = Buy to Close). I consider Fidelity to be very realistic with what you own (and owe till expiration).

What Are the Risks of Selling Covered Calls?