FNILX vs. FXAIX: Which one should you invest in?

Someone asks:

Hi, I’m new to investing and so far mostly only invested in index funds for my Roth IRA. What exactly is the difference between FNILX, a large cap index fund, and FXAIX, a 500 index fund? Seems like the same thing to me. Is it a good idea to invest in both? Or just one or the other?

FNILX vs. FXAIX: What Are the Differences?

• FNILX is part of Fidelity’s ZERO Fee Index funds. This means it has no expense ratio. Meanwhile, FXAIX charges an extremely low expense ratio of 0.02%. The difference in fee is tiny.
  • FNILX pays dividends once a year (every December). FXAIX distributes dividends every quarter.
  • FXAIX has been around longer than FNILX. Fidelity 500 Index Fund was established in 1988 whereas Fidelity Large Cap Growth Fund was established in 2018.
  • FNILX has 5.61 billion in assets under management. FXAIX has over 399 billion in assets under management.

FNILX vs. FXAIX: How Are They Similar?

• While the branding is slightly different, both FNILX and FXAIX are essentially the same because they track the S&P 500 Index.
  • FNILX and FXAIX also have the same top 10 holdings.
COMPANY SYMBOL TOTAL NET ASSETS
Apple Inc. AAPL 6.86%
Microsoft Corp. MSFT 6.26%
Amazon Inc. AMZN 3.60%
Alphabet Inc. Cl A GOOGL 2.16%
Tesla Inc. TSLA 2.13%
Alphabet Inc. Cl C GOOG 2.01%
Meta Platforms Inc. FB 1.97%
NVIDIA Corp. NVDA 1.82%
Berkshire Hathaway Inc. Cl B BRK.B 1.36%
UnitedHealth Group Inc. UNH 1.17%

Compare Performance and Returns

Since FNILX is relatively new, we can only show the past 3 years of performance and returns.

Funds Fidelity® ZERO Large Cap Index Fund Fidelity® 500 Index Fund
1 month +3.96% +4.48%
3 months +10.21% +11.02%
6 months +10.71% +11.66%
1 year +26.68% +28.69%
3 years +26.46% +26.06%

An investment of $10,000 in FNILX, since January 2019, now would be worth $20,222.

An investment of $10,000 in FXAIX, since January 2019, now would be worth $20,032.

Which is Better? FNILX or FXAIX?