FSPGX vs. FXAIX: Fidelity Growth Fund or S&P 500?

Someone asks:

I want to keep my portfolio simple, with no more than three good funds. And I’ve been looking into and researching FSPGX. I’m still new to investing, so I’m hoping I’m on the right track with this one.

FSPGX vs FXAIX: Fund Objective

FSPGX is a mutual fund from Fidelity that tracks the total return of U.S large cap stocks. About 80% of assets under management are invested in securities in the Russell 1000 Growth Index.

The Fidelity 500 Index Fund (FXAIX) seeks to track the S&P 500 Index.

FSPGX vs FXAIX: Expense Ratio

FXAIX has an annual expense ratio of 0.02%, while the expense ratio of FSPGX is 0.04%.

Both funds charge a relatively low yearly fee compared to other funds within the same category.

FSPGX vs FXAIX: Top 10 Holdings

Morningstar placed FSPGX and FXAIX in its Large Blend category. This means these funds are most likely to have many overlapping stocks in their portfolio.

FXAIX Top 10 Holdings

Name Symbol % Assets
Microsoft Corp MSFT 6.36%
Apple Inc AAPL 6.00%
Amazon Inc AMZN 3.75%
Tesla Inc TSLA 2.31%
Alphabet Inc Class A GOOGL 2.27%
Alphabet Inc Class C GOOG 2.13%
Meta Platforms Inc Class A FB 1.97%
NVIDIA Corp NVDA 1.63%
Berkshire Hathaway Inc Class B BRK.B 1.36%
JPMorgan Chase & Co JPM 1.30%

FSPGX Top 10 Holdings

Name Symbol % Assets
Microsoft Corp MSFT 10.75%
Apple Inc AAPL 10.11%
Amazon Inc AMZN 6.29%
Tesla Inc TSLA 3.82%
Meta Platforms Inc Class A FB 3.33%
Alphabet Inc Class A GOOGL 3.30%
Alphabet Inc Class C GOOG 3.08%
NVIDIA Corp NVDA 2.63%
The Home Depot Inc HD 1.70%
Visa Inc Class A V 1.54%

FSPGX vs FXAIX: Dividend Yield

FSPGX pays dividends semiannually (June and December). It has a dividend yield of 0.53%.

FXAIX also distributes dividends semiannually (April and December). The fund has a dividend yield of 1.26%.

FSPGX vs FXAIX: Annual Return